## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 532

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Romalda Miranda, who has been selected as a role model for the City of El Paso by the *El Paso Times* on the occasion of Women's History Month; and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month is celebrated annually during the month of March; to honor the vital roles women play in shaping new directions and ideas in society, the national theme of Women's History Month in 2003 is "Women Pioneering the Future"; and

WHEREAS, For its selection of women who serve as role models for the City of El Paso, the *El Paso Times* invited its readers to nominate women who have made a strong impact on their family, their neighborhood, or the entire city; the many deserving women who were selected for this public recognition are genuine trailblazers in a wide variety of fields; and

WHEREAS, Romalda Miranda is known in the community for her work with children; she is a dedicated teacher for the Montana Vista Head Start program, where she cares for special needs children; she also serves as a catechism teacher at San Felipe de Jesus Catholic Church in Socorro; committed to pursuing many different avenues of personal growth, she finds time to pursue a college degree by taking night classes; and

a college degree by taking night classes; and
WHEREAS, With her many gifts and talents and through her
initiative and perseverance, Romalda has set a lasting standard
for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, Her worthy accomplishments and her pioneering spirit truly make Romalda an inspiration for all citizens of El Paso and a source of pride for all Texans; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Romalda Miranda on her selection as a role model for the City of El Paso; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2003.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate