## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 575

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in recognizing Debbie Yarger, who is being honored at the Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science Teaching "Honoring the Teachers" dinner on May 1, 2003; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science Teaching are partnerships that bring together

The University of Texas at Austin Science Education Center, the Texas Education Agency, colleges and universities, business and industry, education service centers, and school districts; the collaboratives work together to support science education reform; and

WHEREAS, The organization operates on the principle that institutions of higher education should be an integral part of the inservice and preservice support systems provided to science teachers to empower them to lead systemic reform in science education; and

WHEREAS, The dinner on May 1 is in honor of the science teachers of the region and is being sponsored by The University of Texas at Arlington Regional Collaborative; and

WHEREAS, An exceptionally resourceful and dedicated teacher, Debbie Yarger is an enthusiastic educator whose skillful teaching methods inspire students to strive for excellence; and

WHEREAS, Debbie's wise counsel and encouragement foster
a positive classroom ambience and allow students to feel

S.R. No. 575

self-confident in their studies and to engage in meaningful learning experiences in the field of science; and

WHEREAS, Debbie Yarger is a talented instructor and leader who instills in students a sense of pride and a lifelong love of learning; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, hereby commend Debbie Yarger for contributing with dedication and expertise to the educational system of Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Debbie Yarger as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 7, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate