SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 597

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the community of Friendswood and citizens across the state and nation in recognizing Gay and Bob Smither for their dedicated work on behalf of missing children; and

WHEREAS, Gay and Bob's daughter, Laura, a 12-year-old aspiring ballerina, certified scuba diver, Cadette Girl Scout, and gifted student, was abducted near her home in Friendswood on April 3, 1997; and

WHEREAS, The Laura Recovery Center was founded as Gay and Bob, the Friendswood Police Department, and more than 6,000 community volunteers launched a nationwide search to find the missing child; a trusting and cooperative relationship developed between the community and law enforcement in the intense search for Laura, and the relationship later became known as the Triangle of Trust; and

WHEREAS, Gay and Bob Smither know the pain, fear, and frustration that families experience when a child is missing, and they dedicate many hours to working with the Laura Recovery Center and helping others to recover missing children; they are able to provide the compassion, counsel, and support to others that are needed at such a traumatic time in their lives; and

WHEREAS, The couple established the Laura Recovery Center Foundation to assist with and improve citizen response and emergency preparedness in cases of missing children and to foster a Triangle of Trust between family, citizens, and law enforcement in all communities; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Gay and Bob Smither for their continuing efforts to work on behalf of missing children and express appreciation for the invaluable support they give to others in honor and in memory of their daughter, Laura Kate Smither; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Jackson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate