SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 613

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jerry Hodge of Amarillo, who has been named the 2002 Tri-State Fair Cowboy of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Jerry was born in southwest Oklahoma in 1942; he earned a bachelor's degree in pharmacy from Southwestern Oklahoma State University and established a successful business career; in 1966 he bought Maxor Drug, the oldest continuously operating pharmacy in the Texas Panhandle, and he developed the local operation into a national pharmacy services provider; and

local operation into a national pharmacy services provider; and WHEREAS, In the 1970s, Jerry began to pursue his lifelong dream of having a ranch and raising cattle; through his dedication to the preservation of Texas Longhorn cattle and the ranching traditions of the Old West, he has established himself as a national leader in raising registered Longhorns; and

WHEREAS, He served as chairman of the Amarillo Events Venue District, and he played a major role in the planning and construction of the Amarillo National Center, a facility that hosts a wide array of musical and sports events; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary member of the community, Jerry served two terms as mayor of Amarillo; he also served the state as a member of various boards, including the Texas State Board of Pharmacy and the Texas Board of Criminal Justice; and

WHEREAS, Jerry operates two ranches that total 20,000 acres, and he competes in ranch rodeos, team roping, and team penning competitions; he is a true cowboy in word and in deed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Jerry Hodge for his many accomplishments and extend congratulations to him for being selected 2002 Tri-State Fair Cowboy of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Jerry Hodge as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Bivins

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2003.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate