SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 621

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mary Help of Christians School for its outstanding contributions to the education of the children of Laredo; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1935 by the Salesian Sisters of Saint John Bosco, this prominent school has served the educational and spiritual needs of many students and families in South Texas for nearly 70 years; and

WHEREAS, A pioneering group of Salesian Sisters from Mexico first established a presence in the San Antonio and Castroville areas in 1935; that same year, the sisters found a permanent home for their order in the City of Laredo and opened a school on Houston Street; in 1963, the school moved to its present campus; recent renovations and expansions have ensured its ability to continue its tradition of academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, The Mary Help of Christians School has been guided by Saint John Bosco's preventive system of education, which was based on reason, spiritual development and loving kindness, and its mission is to teach the Gospel values of ministry, mission and service in an atmosphere of academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Countless numbers of young people have benefited from the school's academic rigor, and they have become effective, productive and exemplary citizens of Laredo and our state; and

WHEREAS, The City of Laredo takes great pride in the history and the presence of this highly respected institution; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Mary Help of Christians School for its unflagging commitment to educating the children of Laredo and for serving as a beacon of light in the community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the school's students, families, administration and staff as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate