SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 622

WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon team from Mary Carroll High School in Corpus Christi participated in the Texas Academic Decathlon held February 28 through March 1, 2003, and team members deserve special recognition for their commitment to academic achievement; and

WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon was created in 1968 to promote excellence in academics; students give speeches, are interviewed, write essays, and take tests in mathematics, social sciences, economics, language/literature, music, and art; each nine-member team is divided into Honors, Scholastic, and Varsity divisions, providing for a broad range of academic backgrounds; and

WHEREAS, Competing in the large school division, members of the Mary Carroll High School team include Amanda Bosquez, Kirstine Carter, Nicholas Cox, Emily Jasek, Niels Joaquin, Robin Melson, Megan Palacios, Julia Stryker, and Holly White; and

WHEREAS, The hard work and determination to excel demonstrated by all the members of the Mary Carroll High School Academic Decathlon team are truly commendable, and it is most fitting that we honor them at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of the Mary Carroll High School Academic Decathlon team on participating in the 2003 Texas Academic Decathlon state competition and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Mary Carroll High School Academic Decathlon team as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

Member, Texas Senate