SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 662

In Memory of The Honorable Tom Haywood

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Wichita Falls and Texans across the state in paying tribute to the life of Senator Tom Haywood, who died July 12, 2001, at the age of 61; and

WHEREAS, Tom Haywood had a long career of achievement and leadership and of service to his beloved state; and

WHEREAS, Tom was born in Dallas on September 30, 1939; he earned a bachelor's degree in physics from The University of Texas at Arlington and a master's degree from the University of North Texas; after receiving his doctorate in physics from the University of Alberta, Canada, he taught physics at the University of North Texas and at Midwestern State University, where he also served as director of university affairs; and

WHEREAS, Tom left the field of education in 1979 to serve as executive vice president of the North Texas Oil and Gas Association and led that organization to become one of the most highly respected of its kind in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Tom Haywood was first elected to the Senate in 1994 and served in the 74th through the 77th legislatures, representing citizens from the 36 counties of District 30 in North and West Texas; and

WHEREAS, Senator Haywood was an advocate for rural areas and an expert on energy-related issues, and his grasp of complex issues was evident during debate; he served on the Education, Economic Development, Nominations, Finance, Natural Resources, and Veteran Affairs and Military Installations committees, and he was chairman of the Subcommittee on Agriculture during the 75th, 76th, and 77th legislative sessions; and

WHEREAS, Senator Haywood was active in many civic organizations, including the Wichita Falls Board of Commerce and Industry, the Children's Aid Society of North Texas, the Boy Scouts of America, and the Wichita Falls Museum and Art Center; he received numerous awards for his public service, including the Mid-sized School Association Golden Apple Award, the Rotary Club Paul Harris Award, and the Texas Young Republicans Legislator of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, Tom Haywood displayed a special kind of bravery; although he had progressive supranuclear palsy, a condition similar to Parkinson's disease, he never made excuses for himself and rarely acknowledged that he suffered from the debilitating illness, which fortunately did not affect his brilliant mind; and

WHEREAS, He was an inspiration to others as he confronted the challenges in his daily life; when he experienced a loss of motor skills during his final legislative session, he was assisted by his daughter Denise; and WHEREAS, Senator Haywood lived his life with a dignity and grace that few possess, and his constancy, sense of humor, and wise counsel were a source of strength to many; and

WHEREAS, A devoted husband, father, and grandfather, Tom Haywood lived an exemplary life, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family, his Texas Senate colleagues, and his many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, hereby commemorate the life of Senator Tom Haywood and extend sincere condolences to his bereaved family: his wife,
Pat Vaughan Haywood; his mother, Carolyne Frady; his children,
Alisa Green, Denise Haywood, and Jamie Ratliff; his brother,
Richard Haywood; and his nine grandchildren; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Senator Tom Haywood.

Ratliff

Armbrister	Fraser	Ogden
Averitt	Gallegos	Shapiro
Barrientos	Harris	Shapleigh
Bivins	Hinojosa	Staples
Brimer	Jackson	Van de Putte
Carona	Janek	Wentworth
Deuell	Lindsay	West
Duncan	Lucio	Whitmire
Ellis	Madla	Williams
Estes	Nelson	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 23, 2003, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate