SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 696

WHEREAS, The Texas Environmental Excellence Awards are being presented May 6, 2003, and this auspicious occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize the proud recipients of these prestigious accolades for their dedicated efforts to protect and conserve our state's natural resources; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by a blue ribbon committee and selected by the Office of the Governor and the commissioners of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, these award-winning Texans involved in small and large businesses, government, and individual citizenship have voluntarily endeavored to preserve our state's natural resources by preventing pollution, minimizing waste, conserving water, reducing energy consumption, and protecting wildlife; and

WHEREAS, The 2003 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards recipients are Clean Pampa, Incorporated, the City of Fort Worth Department of Environmental Management, the Port of Houston Authority, Joshua Morris, Target Stores, EcoTrans Technologies, Sage Oil Vac, Project Red Arroyo, the El Paso Electric Company, and the Texas Cattle Feeders Association's Environmental Services Program; and

WHEREAS, These winners also share their knowledge, technology, and expertise to educate Texans as to how they may protect the environment in their communities, and their leadership will prove vital in preserving our state's natural resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it

resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby recognize May 6, 2003, as Texas Environmental Excellence Awards Day at the State Capitol and commend the award recipients for their exemplary efforts on behalf of the Lone Star State; and, be it further

Armbrister

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate