SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 701

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team for capturing the Class 5A state championship on March 8, 2003; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles defeated Corpus Christi Ray High School 94-73 at the Frank Erwin Center to earn the school's first state basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, The DeSoto basketball team members exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship as they demonstrated their talent and the discipline instilled in them by Head Coach Chris Dyer and Assistant Coaches David Martinez and Kory McIver; and

WHEREAS, Bringing home the championship title this year was especially sweet for the Eagles; after barely missing the playoffs in the 2001-2002 season, the Eagles entered this season with exceptional determination, and their hard work paid off with a remarkable 33-6 record and the state championship title; and

WHEREAS, Team members include championship game most valuable player Dez Willingham and fellow seniors James Williams, Will Gant, Barry Williams, Chris Christian, Hampton Alexander, Charles Stoker, and Trey Gilder; the team also relied on juniors Dwight Coleman, Derrick Wilbourn, Rodney Jackson, and Gerad Coward, sophomore Roderick Flemings, and freshmen Ronnie Morgan and Jermaine Beal; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary group of young men and their coaches and staff can be justifiably proud of their accomplishments, and they are a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty at Desoto High School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members and coaching staff of the DeSoto High School boys' basketball team for winning the Class 5A state championship and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate