SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 702

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Iraan High School boys and girls cross-country teams for winning the 2002 Class 1A state championship titles; and

WHEREAS, After winning at the district and regional levels, the 2002 Iraan boys team captured the school's second state championship in a row; the members of the 2002 championship team are Payden Ward, Baldamar Ibarra, Oscar Barrera, Brandon Gentry, Danny Gomez, Brent Lutz, Juan Balderas, and Jose Solis; and

WHEREAS, The 2002 Iraan girls team has demonstrated awesome talent and perseverance throughout a highly successful season; it won district and regional competitions before garnering the state title; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are Rachel Green, Danielle Malone, Rikita Urias, Clarissa Callahan, Devin Vay, Ashley Holmes, Jana Smart, Crystal Gardner, Ashley Leffler, Cymantha Ledford, Caitlin Yocom, Mandi Spittler, Landry Jernigan, and Khera Vay; and

WHEREAS, Iraan High School and the entire community take great pride in the Iraan High School boys and girls cross-country teams for their exceptional athletic skills and for their determination and competitive spirit; they have brought great honor to the school and the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members and coaches of the Iraan boys and girls cross-country teams on their outstanding seasons and on their 2002 Class 1A state championship titles; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Madla

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 29, 2003.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate