## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 711

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas High School Rodeo Association for its outstanding contributions to the Texas rodeo tradition and the young people of our state; and

WHEREAS, The association consists of over 1,450 members and sponsors more than 150 rodeos in 10 different regions of the state each year; top rodeo participants from each region compete for numerous awards and scholarships and for the honor of representing the State of Texas at the national rodeo championship competition held each year in July; and

WHEREAS, The association is affiliated with the National High School Rodeo Association, which is dedicated to the development of sportsmanship, horsemanship, and character in the youth of our country; and

WHEREAS, The Texas High School Rodeo Association is the largest and most prestigious state high school rodeo organization in the nation; it supports family values, young people, and academic excellence; the association has given away \$90,000 in college scholarships each year; and

WHEREAS, The association and communities throughout our state take great pride in the 2002 national team from Texas for winning the national rodeo championship at the National High School Rodeo Finals in Farmington, New Mexico; members of the team were Rachel Oates, Queen; Brittney Pozzi, Elizabeth Sullivan, Kylee Burrus, and Cyndi Terry, Barrels; Lindsey Ewing, Cigi Allen, Callie Albrecht, and Cami Cartwright, Breakaway; Angie Bennett, Lindsey Ewing, Raelyn Gardner, and Kaycie Teague, Pole Bending; Nicole Lingo, Stephanie Jacks, Callie Albrecht, and Sarina Thornton, Goat Tying; Courtney Sokol, Ryan McCarty, Kenra Wing, and Megan McBride, Girls Cutting; Thomas Bray, Myles Coats, Clayton Foltyn, and Chet Dove, Boys Cutting; Jason Timmerman, Bradley Bynum, Jerrad Hofstetter, and Dillon Shults, Calf Roping; Clayton Hass, Marty Eakin, Clayton Sebesta, and BJ Lawson, Steer Wrestling; Clayton Foltyn, Kevin Loyd, Skye Yocum, and Chad Mask, Bareback Riding; Bobby Wood, Marty Eakin, Wes Burns, and Rowdy Rathmell, Saddle Bronc; Koby Adcock, Kevin Ventura, Clayton Foltyn, and Josh Blackburn, Bull Riding; and Justin Tomlinson and Chad Brock, Jake Cooper and Jimmy Cooper, Randy Blackburn and James Lockhart, and Jake Swinney and Ryan Nolen, Team Roping; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team worked hard all year in their studies and in building their rodeo skills, and they are rightfully proud of their exemplary accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Texas High School Rodeo

S.R. No. 711

Association for its invaluable contributions to our young citizens and extend congratulations to the 2002 national championship team on a well-deserved victory; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for all the Texas youth and sponsors involved in the association as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

		Harris
Armbrister	Estes	Madla
Averitt	Fraser	Nelson
Barrientos	Gallegos	Ogden
Bivins	Hinojosa	Shapiro
Brimer	Jackson	Staples
Deuell	Lucio	Wentworth
Duncan		Williams

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 5, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate