SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 713

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Sergio Zamora of Eagle Pass on his designation as Physician of the Year for the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Sergio Zamora was born in 1957 in Nueva Rosita, Coahuila, Mexico; he was encouraged by his parents to pursue higher education, and he was especially encouraged and inspired by his brother Jose Luis, who also went to medical school but was tragically killed in a bus accident while still a student; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Zamora earned his doctor of medicine degree at La Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon in 1981 and fulfilled his residency requirements in Monterrey, Nuevo Leon; he completed additional studies at IMSS Hospital at Acuna and Piedras Negras, Coahuila, from 1984 through 1985; and

WHEREAS, He came to the United States in 1986 and became director of Santa Ana Occupational Physical Therapy Clinic in Santa Ana, California; he earned his doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific in Pomona, California, in 1993; and

Pacific in Pomona, California, in 1993; and
WHEREAS, After moving to Texas, he served an internship
at Doctor's Hospital in Groves and worked as a resident in the
University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and
the Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas; he has been in private
practice in Eagle Pass since 1997; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Zamora is an exemplary physician whose work on behalf of his patients and the Eagle Pass community merit legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Sergio Zamora for his notable accomplishments and congratulate him for being selected as Physician of the Year for the State of Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Madla

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2003.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate