SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 719

WHEREAS, While serving in Iraq, Army Support Specialist Edgar Adan Hernandez of the 507th Maintenance Company was taken prisoner by the enemy and held as a prisoner of war for three harrowing weeks before his release on April 13, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Part of a convoy ambushed in Southern Iraq by hostile forces on March 23, 2003, this steadfast soldier was captured with four other members of his company and together they endured 21 days in captivity before being rescued by U.S. Marines; and

WHEREAS, A resident of Alton, Specialist Hernandez attended junior high and high school in Mission and was stationed at Fort Bliss before his deployment to the Persian Gulf; on completing his military service in the near future, he hopes to remain in Texas as a member of the U.S. Border Patrol and make his home in El Paso; and

home in El Paso; and
WHEREAS, This patriotic Texan is blessed with an abiding
faith and positive outlook on life that doubtless helped him to
maintain his spirits during the dark days of his captivity and
will continue to serve him well in the years to come; and

WHEREAS, The sacrifices made by Specialist Hernandez and his fellow soldiers while serving their country in Iraq have earned the heartfelt gratitude of all Americans, who join his parents, Jose and Maria Hernandez, his sister, Monica Hernandez Cantu, his brothers, Joel and Marco Hernandez, and the members of this body in applauding his safe return; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, hereby commend Army Support Specialist
Edgar Adan Hernandez for his remarkable service in behalf of this
nation during the Iraqi campaign and officially welcome him home
to the Lone Star State; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Specialist Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate