SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 725

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Pamela A. Carley on the occasion of her retirement after 19 years as a member of the board of the Employees Retirement System of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The first woman to ever serve on the board and three-term board member, Pamela Carley previously served as both vice chair and chair; she has served with three executive directors of the system, which has been under the leadership of only six executive directors in 56 years; and

WHEREAS, Pamela Carley is the director of the Office of Consumer Services and Rights Protection at the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation; and

WHEREAS, A native of Lubbock, Pamela began her career with the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation at Lubbock State School in 1969 as a psychology student and later served as a caseworker and director of Programs and Support Services; she earned her bachelor's degree in psychology in 1972 from Texas Tech University and completed 21 hours in the special education master's program; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Carley is the longest-serving board member of the Employees Retirement System; she was appointed in 1984 as an employee-member to fill a vacancy and successfully ran for election in 1985 and 1991; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary public servant, Pamela A. Carley has been an inspiration to those who have had the pleasure to know her and work with her at the Employees Retirement System of Texas and

S.R. No. 725

the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, hereby commend Pamela A. Carley for her 19

years of loyal service to state employees and retirees through
her exceptional service with the Employees Retirement System of
Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 2, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate