SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 726

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Friendswood High School Academic Decathlon team for its 11th consecutive victory in the state championship competition in March of 2003; and

WHEREAS, The Academic Decathlon program provides high school students an opportunity to experience the challenges of rigorous academic competition through participation in team activities; the schools are classified as either large, medium, or small, and each nine-member team consists of three A students, three B students, and three C students; and

WHEREAS, The Friendswood High School team competed in the medium school category and won over \$20,800 in scholarship money while receiving 47 medals in the competition that included tests on academic strengths and communications ability; eleven straight wins at the state level is quite an accomplishment and a reflection of the school's emphasis on academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, Under the capable leadership of coaches Mary Rinehart and Renae Simons, team members Ben Babb, Cynthia Bowen, Kyle Crawford, Nureen Haq, Troy Hedman, Payal Patel, Vanessa Peters, Andy Steinhauser, Zach VanMeter, and manager Brandon Nowalk excelled in their knowledge on art, economics, language and literature, mathematics, music, social science, and oceanography; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary young students are a source of tremendous pride to their fellow students, the faculty, and their parents, and their outstanding achievements are indeed worthy of special legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Friendswood High School Academic Decathlon team and congratulate each of the members for winning their 11th consecutive state competition; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a token of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Jackson

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 2, 2003.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate