SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 754

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Aldine Independent School District for its outstanding work in educating the children of Aldine; and

WHEREAS, Aldine Independent School District ranks among the state's high performing school districts according to the Texas Education Agency; beginning in 1996, the district earned Recognized ratings for six consecutive years from the Texas Education Agency; the district has also been ranked among the state's top 20 school districts in educating African American and Latino students; and

WHEREAS, Twenty schools in the district were recently named high performing schools by the Just For the Kids Foundation for sustaining high academic performance in 2000, 2001, and 2002 in various academic categories, including writing, reading, science, mathematics, social studies, and end of course exams; and

WHEREAS, The Just For the Kids Foundation, along with the National Center for Educational Accountability, has been investigating educational best practices in the State of Texas for the last three years; and

WHEREAS, The Just For the Kids Foundation is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to raise academic standards and increase student achievement in schools in Texas; the National Center for Educational Accountability is a collaborative effort of the Education Commission of the State of Texas, The University of Texas at Austin, and the Just For the Kids Foundation to improve learning through the effective use of school and student data and the identification of best practices; and

WHEREAS, The 20 schools in the Aldine Independent School District named high performing by the Just For the Kids Foundation are Aldine Senior High School, Aldine Ninth Grade School, Aldine Middle School, Drew Academy, Eisenhower Senior High School, Eisenhower Ninth Grade School, Thompson Elementary School, Gray Elementary School, Hambrick Middle School, Hoffman Middle School, MacArthur Senior High School, MacArthur Ninth Grade School, Mendel Elementary School, Nimitz Ninth Grade School, Oleson Elementary School, Sammons Elementary School, Stephens Elementary School, Stovall Middle School, Grantham Academy, and Teague Middle School; and

WHEREAS, In 1998, the Aldine Independent School District Board was named the Outstanding School Board of Texas by the Texas Association of School Administrators; other awards include the Standards of Excellence Award and National Outstanding Marketing Award for its Child Nutrition Department; for three

S.R. No. 754

years, the district received the National Encore Award from USA Weekend, and in the 1995-1996 school year, its elementary schools were recognized by Texas Monthly as among the best in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Students in the Aldine Independent School District have greatly benefited from the expertise and diligence of its administrators, faculty, and staff, and all associated with the school district deserve recognition for its excellent record; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the Aldine Independent School District for its dedication to the education of the young people of Aldine and congratulate its schools for their exceptional accomplishments; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Aldine Independent School District as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Gallegos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 27, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate