SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 793

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to Area 5 Democrats in Pasadena on the grand occasion of the group's 50th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, After many Texans voted for Republican Dwight D. Eisenhower for president in the 1952 election, loyal Democrats started organizing and forming Democratic Clubs in Harris County, primarily at the request of Democratic Party supporters Frankie Randolph and Bud Mosier; and

WHEREAS, In March of 1953, the Area C Democrats began to organize precincts and do grassroots politics in the Pasadena area; it was renamed Area 5 Democrats in the 1960s and started opening headquarters for candidates to operate phone banks, organize block walks, and distribute yard signs and literature; and

WHEREAS, Area 5 Democrats has had a number of chairpersons over the years; the current chairperson since 2000 is Jimmy Serrano, and former chairpersons still living are Ace Payne, Don Fogo, Daryl Hurt, and Jean Wortham; and

WHEREAS, Members of Area 5 Democrats are dedicated to the election of officials who are committed and responsive to the community, and as a result of their efforts, more persons are involved with the electoral process today; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend members of Area 5 Democrats for their exemplary endeavors on behalf of good government and extend congratulations to them on the organization's 50th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Gallegos

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2003.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate