## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 797

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to Hector V. Barreto, administrator of the United States Small Business Administration, for his outstanding leadership and services on behalf of small businesses in Texas and throughout the nation; and

WHEREAS, After his nomination by President George W. Bush, Mr. Barreto was confirmed on July 25, 2001, by a unanimous vote by the United States Senate as the 21st administrator of the Small Business Administration, the nation's largest single financial backer of small business and disaster loans worth more than \$45 billion; and

WHEREAS, As a young man, Hector helped his father manage a family restaurant, an export/import business, and a construction company; after receiving his bachelor's degree in business administration from Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Missouri, he worked as the South Texas area manager for the Miller Brewing Company; and

WHEREAS, He moved to California in 1986 and founded an insurance and financial services business and later a securities business; he was chairman of the board for the Latin Business Association in Los Angeles, which increased its membership by 50 percent and doubled its revenues during his tenure; and

WHEREAS, Recognized by *Hispanic Business Magazine* as one of America's 100 Most Influential Hispanics, Hector Barreto deserves recognition for his leadership and his many contributions to the small businesses and entrepreneurs of our country; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Hector V. Barreto for his notable accomplishments and congratulate him on his outstanding service as administrator of the United States Small Business Administration; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate