## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 813

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District Child Nutrition Department on the occasion of the dedication of its newly renovated food service building; and

its newly renovated food service building; and WHEREAS, The building has been named in honor of the late Baldemar G. Cano, Sr., a former food service director for the district; the Child Nutrition Department prepares food and supplies for 24,000 students in 35 schools in the district; the staff includes 55 Central Kitchen employees and some 300 employees in school cafeterias; and WHEREAS, The Child Nutrition Department provides

WHEREAS, The Child Nutrition Department provides high-quality, nutritious, and appealing meals for students as it endeavors to educate them about healthy eating; and

WHEREAS, Because the nutrition program operates under Provision 2 of the Child Nutrition Act, all students are offered a free breakfast and lunch, regardless of economic status, and special diets are provided to students with special needs; and

WHEREAS, Under the expert guidance of Director Imelda Garza and her dedicated and talented staff, students in the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District are provided delicious, nutritious, and well-balanced breakfasts and lunches every day and are thereby prepared to focus on learning; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend the Pharr-San Juan-Alamo Independent School District Child Nutrition Department for its worthy goals and for successfully providing good, nutritious food for the children in the district; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a memento of the dedication of the department's renovated building in honor of former Food Service Director Baldemar G. Cano, Sr.

Lucio

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 12, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate