SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 821

WHEREAS, All Saints Episcopal Day School of Austin has achieved widespread recognition for its outstanding success in nurturing and educating young children in the Capital City; and

WHEREAS, An accredited preschool and kindergarten, All Saints was organized in 1946 by seven young mothers who were active in Saint Margaret's Guild of All Saints Episcopal Church, on the edge of The University of Texas at Austin campus; with support from the rector, vestry, and congregation, the school opened with an initial enrollment of 20 students; and

WHEREAS, For more than five decades, the school has served families from many different cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds; through its curriculum, enrichment activities, and loving, caring environment, the school prepares its children to excel in academics and in life and instills in them an enduring love of learning; and

WHEREAS, Cindy LaPorte, director of All Saints Episcopal Day School, has won many plaudits for her creative, dynamic leadership since taking over the reins of the school in 2000; a highly respected educator, she was formerly preschool/lower school director at Saint James Episcopal School in Corpus Christi; and

WHEREAS, Further contributing to the success of this venerable institution are the efforts of its skilled and dedicated teachers; among its outstanding staff are

1

S.R. No. 821

Dee Dee Burson and Angie Wilkinson, gifted kindergarten instructors who provide their young students with abundant encouragement and support while engaging and challenging their natural curiosity; and

WHEREAS, Texans owe a great debt of gratitude to those who shape and guide the youth of our state, and Cindy LaPorte and the teachers of All Saints Episcopal Day School are indeed deserving of commendation for their vital work in preparing their students to build full and rewarding lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Texas Legislature, hereby honor Cindy LaPorte and the staff of All Saints Episcopal Day School for their exceptional efforts and commitment to the youth of their school and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success.

Ratliff

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate