SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 827

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Robert Anthony O'Rourke for his outstanding contributions to the field of medicine; and

WHEREAS, Dr. O'Rourke is a graduate of Santa Clara University and a magna cum laude graduate of Creighton University School of Medicine; he completed internships in internal medicine and cardiology at Georgetown University Hospital; and

WHEREAS, A highly respected educator in the field of medicine, Dr. O'Rourke taught at Georgetown University Medical Center and at the medical schools of the University of Arizona and the University of California, San Diego; from 1976 to 1995, he was the Charles Conrad Brown Distinguished Professor and director of the cardiology-vascular division at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, An eminent research scientist, Dr. O'Rourke has served as the primary investigator, author, coauthor, or editor of more than 600 publications on cardiology; he is an active member of the American College of Cardiology, the National Heart Association, and many other professional associations; and

Association, and many other professional associations; and WHEREAS, Dr. O'Rourke is internationally recognized for his vast medical knowledge, his scholarship, and his superb teaching, and he is universally regarded as a committed humanitarian and as a charming and gracious gentleman; and

WHEREAS, He has brought great credit to himself, to The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and to the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby recognize Dr. Robert Anthony O'Rourke as a treasured citizen of the State of Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate