SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 886

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pleasure in recognizing the second class of the Senator Gregory Luna Memorial Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program instituted through the Senate Hispanic Research Council, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1993 by Hispanic members of the Texas Senate, along with other key state and civic leaders, the Senate Hispanic Research Council, Incorporated, is a nonpartisan organization whose educational mission includes the Senator Gregory Luna Memorial Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program named in honor of the late Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, Senator Luna was a tireless advocate for equal access to education who believed that a quality education is the key to a more effective and inclusive government; and

WHEREAS, The Luna Scholars and Fellows Program was created to provide opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from across the state to serve as full-time policy interns in the Texas Senate during legislative sessions; and

WHEREAS, The following three graduate Fellows and 11 undergraduate Scholars have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in the offices of various members of the Senate: David Attwood of San Juan, Aaron Barrera of Texas City, Emily Calderon of McAllen, Mario Cruz of Houston, Neil Davis of Houston, Scott de la Garza of San Antonio, Sara Gonzalez of Rio Grande City, Anna Maria Mendez of Austin, Vanessa Morales of Corpus Christi, Celina Moreno of San Antonio, Eric Muñoz of Roma, Omar Ochoa of Edinburg, Micah Rodriguez of Alice, and Jeanette Tejeda of San Antonio; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, hereby commend these remarkable individuals
for their service this session and wish them the very best as they
prepare themselves to become the future leaders of our state and
nation; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be presented to them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte Barrientos Ellis Gallegos	Hinojo Lucio Madla		Shapleigh West Whitmire Zaffirini	
	Member,	Texa	s Senate	
Member, Texas	Senate	-	Member,	Texas Senate
Member, Texas	Senate	-	Member,	Texas Senate
Member, Texas	Senate	-	Member,	Texas Senate
Member, Texas	Senate	-	Member,	Texas Senate
Member, Texas	Senate	-	Member,	Texas Senate
			President	of the Senate
			I hereb	y certify that the ion was adopted by May 19, 2003.
			Secretary	y of the Senate