SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1020

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Joaquin G. Cigarroa for his 50 years of outstanding service as a physician in the Laredo community; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Cigarroa graduated cum laude from Harvard Medical School in 1947; he was an intern at the University of Chicago Clinics and a resident in internal medicine at Harvard Medical School and Boston City Hospital; and

WHEREAS, Joaquin Cigarroa has long been revered in the Laredo community for the devotion and attention he has given to countless patients over the years; having distinguished himself as one of Laredo's finest physicians, he has been a member of the staff of Mercy Health Center for 50 years, and served as its chief of staff in 1962 and 1977; he helped oversee the hospital's growth from a small institution with fewer than 30 beds to a new facility with 300 beds; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure as a member of the Coordinating Board of Texas Colleges and Universities, he helped ensure the establishment of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and realized his dream of helping to bring Texas A&M International University to Laredo; and

WHEREAS, For his many achievements, Dr. Cigarroa has been honored as Mr. South Texas, as the *Laredo Times* Man of the Year and as a Distinguished Alumnus of The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, A man who has spent his life dedicated to his calling as a physician, Dr. Cigarroa is deeply loved by the citizens of Laredo, and he deserves recognition for his years of hard work and his exceptional achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Joaquin G. Cigarroa for his outstanding career in the field of medicine and his invaluable contribution to the Laredo community; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate