SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1023

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on the occasion of its 39th Southwest Regional Conference, which is being held in Dallas June 26 through 29, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Julianne Malveaux, the renowned writer, reporter, and commentator, is the featured speaker and will address delegates who have gathered from Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Texas, and the Republic of Panama; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta was founded on January 13, 1913, at Howard University in Washington, D.C., by 22 young college women; the sorority is committed to a five-point public service program that focuses on political awareness, education and literacy, mental and physical health, economic development, and international awareness; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Dallas Metroplex chapters serve as role models for teens through the Betty Shabazz Academy, and they own and operate two public service centers, the Frederica Chase Dodd Life Development Center and One Delta Place Community Life Development Center; and

WHEREAS, As Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrates its 90th anniversary during 2003, it is also honoring Frederica Chase Dodd and the 21 other founding members, whose ideals and goals continue to be a cornerstone for the organization today; and

WHEREAS, Sorority members include corporate and civic leaders, scientists, writers, academicians and activists, public officials, and proud private citizens who provide service and support to their communities; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
78th Legislature, hereby commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority,
Incorporated, on its worthy accomplishments and its contributions
to people around the globe and extend best regards for a successful
conference in Dallas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2003.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate