SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Friday, April 11, 2003 
                                     8:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Friday, April 11, 2003, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     none 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:12 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list: 
         Article II - Health and Human Services 
         Workgroup presentation was given by Senator Nelson 
         Health and Human Services Commission 
         The chair moved not to adopt the rider relating to tobacco  
         funds.  Without objection, the motion was adopted.   
         Department of Human Services 
         Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation 
         At 10:19 a.m. Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.   
         Department of Protective and Regulatory Services 
         At 10:25 a.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         Texas Department of Health 
         At 10:41 a.m. Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.   
         Rehabilitation Commission 
         At 10:52 a.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired 
         Commission for the Deaf 
         Department on Aging   
         Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse 
         The chair moved to alter Article II TCADA working group  
         recommendations to reflect recommendations previously adopted  
         for Article V.  Without objection, the motion was adopted. 
         Cancer Council 
         Early Childhood Intervention 
         Special Provisions 
         Workforce Commission 
         At 11:45 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand at  
         ease for five minutes.    
         At 11:50 a.m. the committee reconvened.   
         Workforce Commission - Committee adopted workgroup  
         Unemployment Compensation Benefit Account - Committee adopted  
         workgroup recommendations. 
         Senator Nelson moved to adopt the packet of riders for Article  
         II with the exception of the rider on page 15, which would be  
         left pending before the committee and with the understanding  
         that the riders on pages 11 and 12 would not be included in the  
         motion.  Without objection, the motion was adopted. 
         Senator Duncan moved to leave in rider 18 and moved to not  
         strike the language.  Without objection, the motion was adopted. 
         Senator West offered up a rider.  Senator Whitmire made a motion  
         to amend the rider.  Without objection, the rider was adopted as  
         Senator Nelson moved that the full committee adopt the workgroup  
         recommendations for Article II.  There was a roll call vote.   
         The motion carried with a record vote of 13 ayes, 1 nay, 0  
         present not voting, and 1 absent.  Senator Averitt asked  
         unanimous consent to be shown voting aye on Article II workgroup                                                                             
         recommendations.  Without objection, the motion carried. 
         There being no further business, at 12:43 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until Monday morning.   
         Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair                              
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk