Wednesday, February 5, 2003 
                           1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.016 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on International  
         Relations and Trade was held on Wednesday, February 5, 2003, in  
         the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                Senator Teel Bivins 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh                 Senator John Carona 
         Senator Craig Estes 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:36 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The following member arrived after the roll was called:   
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         The chair delivered welcoming remarks to the committee and  
         introduced committee staff. 
         The chair laid out the proposed committee rules.  Senator  
         Zaffirini moved that the proposed committee rules be adopted.   
         The motion carried with a vote of 4 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not  
         voting, and 3 absent.   
         The chair discussed the committee schedule with the committee. 
         The committee then heard invited testimony (witness list  
         Gordon Hill, representing the Bayview Irrigation District,  
         testified on the 1944 U.S.-Mexico Water Treaty. 
         Susan Combs, representing the Texas Department of Agriculture,  
         testified on the 1944 U.S.-Mexico Water Treaty and provided an  
         update on the status of the treaty negotiations. 
         There being no further business, at 2:13 p.m. Senator Lucio  
         moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr., Chair 
         Laura Garcia, Clerk