H.C.R. No. 1

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas Longhorns baseball team has 2 further cemented its place in the annals of sports history by 3 winning the 2005 NCAA College World Series Championship at

s willing the 2003 NCAA college world series championshi

4 Rosenblatt Stadium on June 26, 2005; and

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

WHEREAS, The unseeded, battle-tested Longhorns fought through five straight elimination games in regional and super-regional competition to earn their ticket to the College World Series in Omaha; after first defeating Baylor and then besting top-ranked Tulane, the Horns again faced the Bears for an unforgettable rematch, in which Chance Wheeless laced a storybook ninth-inning home run to give Texas its 11th appearance in the finals; and

WHEREAS, Battling Florida for the national title, the Longhorns claimed the first game 4-2 when closer J. Brent Cox hurled two shutout frames after red-shirt freshman Adrian Alaniz tossed an outstanding seven-inning three-hitter; the next day saw another impressive pitching performance from sophomore Kyle McCulloch, and the UT offense also proved formidable with a four-run sixth inning that sealed the 6-2 victory and gave the university its sixth national championship; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2005 Longhorns baseball team include Adrian Alaniz, Calvin Beamon, Drew Bishop, Randy Boone, Preston Clark, Buck Cody, J. Brent Cox, Will Crouch, Brent Dawson, Zach Gallenkamp, Todd Gilfillan, Bryan Herrera, Robby Hudson,

H.C.R. No. 1

- 1 Thomas Incaviglia, Seth Johnston, Carson Kainer, Kenn Kasparek,
- 2 Pack Landfair, David Maroul, Kyle McCulloch, Nick Peoples, Dooley
- 3 Prince, Andy Reese, Clayton Stewart, Jordon Street, Juston Street,
- 4 Drew Stubbs, Taylor Teagarden, Clay Van Hook, and Chance Wheeless;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, These exceptional student-athletes benefited
- 7 tremendously from the knowledge and direction of head coach Augie
- 8 Garrido, the holder of five national titles; he schooled his young
- 9 charges in the finer points of the game while instilling in them the
- 10 values of hard work, dedication, and good sportsmanship, and Coach
- 11 Garrido was ably supported in his efforts by assistant coaches
- 12 Tommy Harmon, Tom Holliday, and Greg Swindell; and
- WHEREAS, Demonstrating the perseverance of true champions,
- 14 the Texas Longhorns have achieved the pinnacle of success on the
- 15 baseball diamond, and the memory of this remarkable season will
- 16 undoubtedly remain with the players, coaches, and fans for many
- 17 years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 19 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate The University of Texas
- 20 Longhorns baseball team on winning the 2005 NCAA College World
- 21 Series Championship and extend to its players and coaches best
- 22 wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives and Senate.

Merritt Van Arsdale Baxter Strama Naishtat

## H.C.R. No. 1

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Alonzo Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Olivo Bonnen Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Burnam Hegar Callegari Phillips Herrero Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Raymond Chisum Homer Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Rodriguez Corte Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Seaman Hupp Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Dukes Swinford King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Flynn Martinez Fischer West Wong McCall Frost Woolley Gallego McClendon Gattis McReynolds Zedler

	11.6.1(. 140. 1
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. N. 6, 2005, by a non-record vote.	No. 1 was adopted by the House on July
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. N 7, 2005, by a viva-voce vote.	No. 1 was adopted by the Senate on July
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED: Date	
Governor	