RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio Spurs have brought yet another basketball championship to the State of Texas, defeating the Detroit Pistons in Game 7 of the NBA Finals by a score of 81-74 to secure the team's second title in the past three seasons and third in the past seven years; and

WHEREAS, Led by Finals MVP Tim Duncan, the Spurs demonstrated grit and determination in their quest to capture the championship trophy; a total team effort, the victory was the result of hard work, dedication, and a commitment to teamwork and basketball fundamentals, including the team's legendary defense; and

WHEREAS, The Spurs finished the regular season with an impressive 59-23 record before knocking off Denver, Seattle, and top-seeded Phoenix in the playoffs to advance to the championship finals against Detroit; with the two teams tied going into Game 5, the Spurs snatched a pivotal victory when veteran Robert Horry nailed a three-pointer in the closing seconds of the game to put San Antonio ahead in the series 3-2; and

WHEREAS, The resilient Pistons bounced back in Game 6, showing the heart and desire expected of the defending champions, but the Spurs' home-court advantage and superior play in the deciding Game 7 proved too much to overcome; and

WHEREAS, One of only five NBA coaches who have won as many as three titles, Coach Gregg Popovich worked with Spurs Chairman and CEO Peter Holt and general manager R. C. Buford to put together a

- 1 talented team featuring young stars, established veterans, and
- 2 vital role players; moreover, the Spurs represent the changing face
- 3 of professional basketball with a core of international players
- 4 from around the world; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Members of the 2005 NBA Champion San Antonio Spurs
- 6 are Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobili, Tony Parker, Robert Horry, Nazr
- 7 Mohammed, Brent Barry, Bruce Bowen, Glenn Robinson, Beno Udrih,
- 8 Devin Brown, Rasho Nesterovic, and Tony Massenburg; the team's
- 9 top-notch staff includes assistant coaches P. J. Carlesimo, Mike
- 10 Budenholzer, Brett Brown, and Don Newman, strength and conditioning
- 11 coach Mike Brungardt, athletic trainer Will Sevening, and assistant
- 12 trainer Joe Gutzwiller; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a professional sports championship can have
- 14 a powerful and positive effect on a city and its residents, and the
- 15 San Antonio Spurs have made an important contribution to the
- 16 vibrancy and prominence of the Alamo City; through savvy
- 17 decision-making and myriad contributions to the community, the
- 18 Spurs organization exemplifies the characteristics of a model
- 19 sports franchise, and it is a pleasure to join in celebrating the
- 20 team's latest championship title; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 22 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the players,
- 23 coaches, staff, and owners of the San Antonio Spurs on winning the
- 24 2005 NBA Championship and extend best wishes to all those who shared
- 25 in the thrill of victory and supported the team throughout this
- 26 magical season; and, be it further
- 27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

- 1 prepared for the team, coaches, staff, and owners as an expression
- of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

н	R	N_{Ω}	19

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 19 was adopted by the House on July 7, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House