H.R. No. 60

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Government Employees Credit Union of El Paso offers the benefits of both a commercial financial institution and a member-owned cooperative, and those Texans who give of their time and talents to serve the organization as board members help to ensure the ongoing success of this vital community resource; and

WHEREAS, Harriet May is one such individual, and she has proven to be an effective advocate for the interests of her fellow credit union members since her appointment as GECU president and CEO in 1996; and

WHEREAS, Initially hired as a teller in 1974, she has shared her extensive experience and expertise as a member of the oversight committee of PULSE EFT Network, the board of the Credit Union National Association, and the board of the Texas Credit Union League, which she has served as chair; elected as the Texas Credit Union Professional of the Year in 2005, she has also served the El Paso chapter of Financial Women International as president; and

WHEREAS, Ms. May's commitment to the community extends far beyond her work in the financial realm, and she is a director of the El Paso United Way and a recipient of UTEP's 2000 College of Science Gold Nugget Award and the 1997 YWCA Reach Award; and

21 WHEREAS, During her outstanding tenure on the GECU board, Ms.
22 May has devoted herself to the welfare of the institution and its
23 members, setting a high standard of excellence for the benefit of
24 all; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 60

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Harriet May for her
- 3 service on the board of the Government Employees Credit Union of El
- 4 Paso and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be
- 5 it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. May as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 60

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 60 was adopted by the House on July 13, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House