RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The State of Texas lost a world-renowned engineer
and Nobel laureate with the death of Jack St. Clair Kilby on June
20, 2005, at the age of 81; and

WHEREAS, With his monumental invention of the integrated circuit in 1958, Mr. Kilby laid the foundation for the information age and truly transformed the world and the way we live in it; his semiconductor chip has made it possible for man to travel to the moon and for consumer electronics to become an essential part of modern life; and

WHEREAS, Raised in Great Bend, Kansas, Mr. Kilby pursued his 10 11 dream to become an engineer at the University of Illinois, where he 12 completed his bachelor's degree after returning from service in 13 World War II; in 1947, he began his career at the Centralab Division 14 of Globe Union, Inc., in Milwaukee, and first worked with transistors, the building blocks for integrated circuits; he 15 received his master's degree in electrical engineering from the 16 University of Wisconsin and subsequently moved to Dallas to work 17 18 for Texas Instruments; and

WHEREAS, On September 12, 1958, Mr. Kilby held a laboratory demonstration for his new invention: the first electronic circuit in which all the components were fabricated in a single piece of semiconductor material half the size of a paper clip; as his invention transformed the industry, he continued to pioneer military, industrial, and commercial applications of microchip

1

technology, and held several engineering management positions at TI; in 1970, he became director of engineering and technology for the components group, and though he officially retired from the company in 1983, he continued his relationship with TI as a consultant; and

6 WHEREAS, In addition to his outstanding career with TI, Mr. 7 Kilby was a distinguished professor of electrical engineering at 8 Texas A&M University from 1978 until 1984; he was the recipient of 9 the National Medal of Science and was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame and, in 1990, he lent his name to The Kilby 10 international 11 Awards Foundation, an awards program that commemorates "the power of one individual to make a significant 12 impact on society"; holding more than 60 U.S. patents, including 13 one for the handheld calculator, which he coinvented, he also 14 15 received the Franklin Institute's Stuart Ballantine Medal, the NAE's Vladimir Zworykin Award, the American Society of Mechanical 16 17 Engineers' Holley Medal, the IEEE's Medal of Honor, the Charles Stark Draper Prize, the Cledo Brunetti Award, and the David Sarnoff 18 19 Award; and

20 WHEREAS, In 2000, this noteworthy Texan was awarded the Nobel 21 Prize in Physics for his invention of the integrated circuit; this 22 exceptional achievement marks the final chapter of a revolutionary 23 career that transformed global industry and everyday life; and

24 WHEREAS, With his practical, low-key demeanor, Jack Kilby was 25 a humble man, and was always quick to credit the many engineers who 26 followed in his footsteps and continued to develop the industry; he 27 will be dearly missed by all those who were privileged to know him

2

and he will long be remembered for the extraordinary contributions that he made to science and to the information age; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of Jack St. Clair Kilby and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his daughters, Ann Kilby and Janet Kilby Cameron; to his grandchildren, Caitlan, Marcy, and Gwen Cameron, and Erica and Katrina Venhuizen; to his son-in-law, Thomas Cameron; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House 13 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jack St. 14 Clair Kilby.

McCall

3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 139 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on July 13, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House