## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Private First Class Christopher Reed 3 Kilpatrick of Columbus, who died in Iraq on June 20, 2005, at the age of 18; and 4 5 WHEREAS, A member of the 603rd Transportation Company, 142nd 6 Corps Support Battalion, Private Kilpatrick was mortally injured 7 while working to keep the peace in a foreign land; and 8

WHEREAS, Despite the dangerous nature of his assignment, this brave Texan took great pride in his work and was committed to fulfilling his mission to the very best of his ability; courageous and steadfast, he earned a host of accolades, including the National Defense Service Medal, the Iraq Campaign Medal, the Bronze Star Medal, the Army Commendation Medal, and the Purple Heart; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, An alumnus of Columbus High School where he participated in basketball, tennis, FFA, and the FCA, Private Kilpatrick graduated in 2004; he qualified for the academic all-district team and earned the prestigious rank of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America; he was a member of First Baptist Church

in Columbus and also attended the Frelsburg Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have young men and women whose love of country leads them to military duty, and time can never diminish the profound debt that Americans owe to Christopher Reed Kilpatrick for the service he undertook and the sacrifice he rendered; and

1 WHEREAS, The thoughts and prayers of many go out to the family 2 of this beloved young man; he was a soldier of honor and valor, and 3 those who knew and cherished him will forever carry him close in 4 their hearts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of Private First Class Christopher Reed Kilpatrick and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his father, Scott Kilpatrick and his wife, Melissa; to his mother, Tracy Hanak and her husband, Zachary; to his sisters, Jaclyn and Morgan Kilpatrick; to his stepsisters, Elizabeth and Rebecca Boulware; to his paternal Bill grandparents, and June Kilpatrick; to his maternal grandparents, Jack Soape and Scarlette Soape; to his maternal great-grandmother, Betty Baker; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army

19 Private First Class Christopher Reed Kilpatrick.

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

Cook of Colorado

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 213 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on July 7, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House