H.R. No. 223

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Alden Williams of Lancaster has been selected to
receive a 2005 Future African American Leadership Award from the
Texas Legislative Black Caucus; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding young Texan is a 2005 graduate of 4 5 Bishop Dunne Catholic School, where she excelled in both academics 6 and athletics; a member of the girls' varsity basketball team throughout her high school career, she was voted team captain 7 during her senior year and was named to the All District Second Team 8 and invited to participate in the senior all-star game; she further 9 distinguished herself through her involvement with the varsity 10 11 track team; and

12 WHEREAS, Despite the many demands on her time, Ms. Williams 13 has given generously of herself to the community she is proud to 14 call home; an active member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, she has volunteered in local blood drives, feeding the 15 homeless, tutoring and mentoring students at Frederick Douglass 16 Elementary School, and in helping with duties at Parkland Hospital; 17 moreover, she is a member of the Girl Scouts and the Junior Usher 18 Board of Good Street Missionary Baptist Church; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Being presented with a Future African American 21 Leadership Award is truly a prestigious honor, and it is indeed 22 appropriate to take this opportunity to commend Ms. Williams for 23 her many achievements; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

H.R. No. 223

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Alden
Williams on her receipt of the 2005 Future African American
Leadership Award from the Texas Legislative Black Caucus and extend
to her best wishes for success in all her endeavors; and, be it
further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Williams as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 223

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 223 was adopted by the House on July 19, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House