H.R. No. 349

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Larry R. Faulkner has announced plans to retire 2 as president of The University of Texas at Austin, and his departure 3 brings to a close a most distinguished tenure at that institution; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, The 27th president of UT-Austin, Dr. Faulkner 6 assumed his present post on April 13, 1998; he has won widespread 7 respect, within and outside of the 40 Acres community, for raising 8 even further the stature of UT as a research university, as well as 9 for laying an impressively solid foundation for future development; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Under Dr. Faulkner's leadership, the Commission of 12 125, a group of alumni and citizens, completed a long-term 13 strategic plan for the university, and the largest fund-raising 14 drive in the school's history brought in more than \$1.6 billion; Dr. 15 Faulkner has also reorganized and modernized the university's 16 administration and installed a structure to foster effective 17 long-range planning; and

18 WHEREAS, During his presidency, the university has established a number of new academic programs, among them the 19 Center for Nano and Molecular Science and Technology, 20 the 21 Department of Biomedical Engineering, the Jackson School of 22 Geosciences, the School of Life Sciences, and the Institute of 23 Computational Engineering and Sciences; moreover, the university has provided leadership at the state and national levels in 24

1

H.R. No. 349

advanced computer networking for the support of research and 1 2 education; in 2001, to meet growing instructional needs, UT took the first steps to add a total of 300 new members to its faculty; and 3 4 WHEREAS, President Faulkner has also overseen initiatives 5 reflecting the global concerns of the university, such as the 6 establishment of the South Asia Institute and the Center for 7 Argentine Studies; the launching of the Argentine center further 8 advances the ambition of the university to become the foremost 9 academic center for Latin American studies in the United States; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Over the course of Dr. Faulkner's tenure, the 12 university has expanded its world-renowned resources through the 13 acquisition of several superb art collections, together with the 14 Norman Mailer, *Newsweek* magazine, and Woodward-Bernstein Watergate 15 archives; and

16 WHEREAS, The campus has also seen extensive renovation of the 17 Darrell K Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium and the Harry Ransom 18 Humanities Research Center, along with the construction of major 19 academic, athletic, residential, and museum facilities; and

WHEREAS, Spurred by Dr. Faulkner's emphasis on undergraduate education, the university has set new records in the retention of freshmen, student progress toward the completion of degrees, and graduation rates; at the same time, notable benchmarks have been inscribed by the freshman class of 2003, which ranked as the most academically qualified in the school's history, and the freshman class of 2004, which ranked as the most diverse; and

27 WHEREAS, To promote participation in the life of the

2

university among all segments of the state's population, UT has 1 2 created innovative admissions and financial aid programs, developed an interactive website offering access to its research, 3 teaching, and treasures, and hosted an annual campus-wide open 4 5 house; Dr. Faulkner has also appointed a diverse university 6 leadership and worked tirelessly to engage with citizens and 7 communities across the length and breadth of Texas; and

H.R. No. 349

WHEREAS, Recognizing the special obligation that public 8 9 universities have to their respective states, President Faulkner 10 has encouraged assistance to public education as an appropriate and vital contribution to the community at large; such efforts by 11 UT-Austin include, in addition to formal academic and outreach 12 programs, the establishment of the National Center for Educational 13 14 Accountability, which promotes best practices, and the creation of 15 a demonstration elementary school, which serves primarily African American and Latino students; and 16

17 WHEREAS, Before assuming the presidency of UT-Austin, Dr. 18 Faulkner taught at Harvard University and spent 25 years at the 19 University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he held the 20 offices of provost, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and 21 head of the Department of Chemistry; a productive scholar who has 22 been honored on numerous occasions for his research, he was elected 23 in 2003 to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and

24 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin has gained 25 immeasurably from Dr. Faulkner's incisive leadership, deep 26 experience, and passionate commitment to the mission of higher 27 education, and the legacy of his achievements will continue to

3

1 enrich the people of this state for years to come; now, therefore,
2 be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 4 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Dr. Larry R. Faulkner 5 for his eminent service as president of The University of Texas at 6 Austin and extend to him sincere best wishes for the years ahead; 7 and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Dr. Faulkner as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

> Pitts Morrison Baxter Craddick Naishtat

H.R. No. 349

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 349

Menendez

H.R. No. 349

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 349 was adopted by the House on July 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House