SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 75

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Salih J. Wakil of Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, who has received the sixth annual Bristol-Myers Squibb Freedom to Discover Award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Wakil is chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Baylor College of Medicine and has earned the award for his pioneering work in the field of fatty acid metabolism; his work has provided new insights into how fat is metabolized in the body and identifies a potential drug target to help treat obesity and diabetes; and

WHEREAS, Born in a small city in Iraq, Salih Wakil worked with his father in a shoe shop until a high placement on an exam provided him with an opportunity to study at the American University in Beirut; and

WHEREAS, After receiving a degree in chemistry, he immigrated to the United States and earned a doctorate in biochemistry from the University of Washington; he completed his early research at the University of Wisconsin and Duke University and moved to Baylor College of Medicine in 1971 as a professor and the chairman of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; and

WHEREAS, An accomplished and highly regarded medical professional, Dr. Salih Wakil enhances the reputation of Baylor College of Medicine as a national leader in health care, and Dr. Wakil is to be commended for his dedicated commitment and outstanding achievements in the field of biomedical research; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. Salih J. Wakil on receiving the Bristol-Myers Squibb Freedom to Discover Award and extend to him best wishes for continued success in his research; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of the high regard of the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 13, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate