SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 82

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Christian Home Missionary Baptist Church in Houston on the occasion of its 97th anniversary, which is being celebrated July 24, 2005; and

celebrated July 24, 2005; and WHEREAS, The Christian Home Missionary Baptist Church has its roots in a congregation that grew out of a small mission band organized in 1906 by the Reverend Benjamin Leroy and his wife Josephine; the church was formally organized and moved to its present location on Rosalie in 1908; and

WHEREAS, The church's ministry has grown steadily over time and now includes a Black History observance, a children's church, and a Seniors On Line for God program; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the Christian Home Missionary Baptist Church has ministered faithfully to the spiritual needs of innumerable people; and

WHEREAS, Due to the guidance and wise stewardship of its pastors and to the outstanding leadership of its current pastor, the Reverend D. R. Jefferson, the church has continued to grow and to play a vital role in the life of the community; and

WHEREAS, The Christian Home Missionary Baptist Church has become an invaluable source of strength for church members during their hardships and in times of bereavement and is a place of celebration during times of bounty; and

WHEREAS, The 97th anniversary celebration is an expression of the church's enduring commitment to its holy mission and to tradition and unity among Christians; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and congregation of the Christian Home Missionary Baptist Church on the joyous occasion of its 97th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 13, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate