SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 85

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Raymond Dunning, Jr., on the occasion of his retirement as chief executive officer and president of the Medical Center of Lewisville; and

WHEREAS, He began his noteworthy career with a position at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, serving as business manager and assistant to the chairman; and

WHEREAS, After a stint as a troubleshooter for a hospital management company, Ray served as the chief executive officer at Maverick County Hospital in Eagle Pass, Bryan Memorial Hospital in Oklahoma, Coffeyville Regional Medical Center in Kansas, and the Medical Center of Lewisville; and

WHEREAS, During the 17 years of his tenure at the Medical Center of Lewisville, he helped establish an ambulatory surgery center and supervised expansions to the emergency department; a new 16-bed intensive care nursery and a new lobby area were recently completed; and

WHEREAS, Active in the Lewisville community, Ray was named the 1994 Citizen of the Year by the Chamber of Commerce; he was the director of the Greater Lewisville United Way; he served on the police department's Citizens Strategic Planning Task Force and on the Chamber of Commerce board of directors; and

WHEREAS, His farsighted leadership and contagious enthusiasm will be greatly missed by his colleagues and friends at the Medical Center of Lewisville; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Raymond Dunning, Jr., for his many achievements and his contributions to the health care system in Texas and extend to him best wishes for his retirement years ahead; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 13, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate