## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 99

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Larry R. Faulkner for his years of outstanding service as president of The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, One of the longest-serving presidents in the history of the university, Dr. Faulkner will be remembered not only for his numerous achievements but for the solid foundation he established for the university's future; and

he established for the university's future; and
WHEREAS, Dr. Faulkner's accomplishments as president
ensured the institution's constitutional mandate that it be a
"university of the first class"; among his many initiatives was
the creation of the Commission of 125, a group of alumni and
citizens who charted a long-term vision and plan for the
university; and

WHEREAS, Achievements of the Faulkner administration include developing the holdings of the university's museum system, such as acquiring the Woodward-Bernstein Watergate archive, planning the building of the new Blanton Museum and acquiring the Suida-Manning and Steinberg collections; and

WHEREAS, Serious efforts were made to include all segments of the Texas population, racial, ethnic and geographic, into the life of the university; Latin America was given priority among the university's international interests; and WHEREAS, The "We're Texas" campaign became the most

WHEREAS, The "We're Texas" campaign became the most successful fund-raising campaign in the university's history, raising over \$1.6 billion; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Dr. Larry R. Faulkner for his valuable contributions to The University of Texas at Austin and to our state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini, Barrientos

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 18, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate