SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 130

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin women's track and field team captured its fourth National Collegiate Athletic Association Outdoor Track and Field Championship thanks to several superior individual performances and a total team effort; and

WHEREAS, Led by Head Coach Bev Kearney, who has now won five national championships at Texas, the Longhorns came from behind on the final day of the meet, scoring 55 points to claim the coveted national title; and

WHEREAS, The seven team members competing in this year's championship meet were Michelle Carter, Jerrika Chapple, Marshevet Hooker, Sheretta Jones, LaTashia Kerr, Melaine Walker, and Ashlee Williams; and

WHEREAS, The memory of this significant accomplishment will long remain with these talented student athletes and their dedicated coaching staff, and the team is most worthy of special legislative recognition for its superior efforts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Coach Bev Kearney and the members of The University of Texas at Austin women's track and field team for winning the 2005 National Collegiate Athletic Association Outdoor Track and Field Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this achievement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 20, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate