H.R. No. 18

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, July 26, 2005, marks a special day indeed for the
- 2 Texas Legislature, for on this day the State Capitol is illuminated
- 3 by the dazzling wattage of the legendary actress, singer, and
- 4 comedienne Carol Channing; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Channing secured her stature as a Broadway star
- of the first order with her definitive performance as Lorelei Lee in
- 7 Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, which introduced her signature song,
- 8 "Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend"; and
- 9 WHEREAS, She went on to even greater acclaim as the star of
- 10 Hello, Dolly!, and her Tony Award winning performance was the
- 11 centerpiece of a year-and-a-half run on Broadway, a successful
- 12 national tour, and a number one gold-selling recording; and
- WHEREAS, Her many artistic achievements extend far beyond the
- 14 Great White Way, and include numerous appearances in films,
- television, theater, and her own distinctive and delightful revues;
- she is currently in Austin to perform her one-woman show, The First
- 17 80 Years are the Hardest; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Ms. Channing is one of the preeminent stars of the
- 19 American theater, and we are most fortunate to welcome this
- 20 distinguished doyenne of the stage and screen to the Lone Star
- 21 State; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 23 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor Carol Channing for
- 24 her remarkable career on the occasion of her visit to Texas and

H.R. No. 18

- 1 commend her for the great pleasure she has brought to her legion of
- 2 fans throughout the years; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Ms. Channing as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

McCall

H.R. No. 18

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

| TT | D | T/T | 10 |
|----|---|----------|----|
| н | ĸ | $N \cap$ | 18 |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 18 was adopted by the House on July 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House