RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the Carter family of Montgomery
County have made an indelible impact on their community and the
State of Texas by raising and exhibiting livestock with 4-H and the
FFA; and
WHEREAS, For the past three decades, Dempsey and Kay Carter

WHEREAS, For the past three decades, Dempsey and Kay Carter have owned and operated Carter's Florist Nursery and Landscaping in Conroe; the couple have passed their strong work ethic on to their children, who have participated in and won many competitions throughout the Lone Star State, including the Montgomery County Fair, the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, the Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show in Fort Worth, and the San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo; and

WHEREAS, The oldest daughter, Jessica, currently attends Texas A&M University, where she is majoring in animal science and has been recognized for her commitment to academic excellence; she has served as a chapter, district, and area officer for the FFA and has received numerous awards for her speaking and exhibition skills; from 1995 through 2004, she qualified for the auction sale at the Montgomery County Fair with a steer or lamb and won Grand or Reserve Steer for the years 1996, 2000, 2002, and 2004; and

WHEREAS, A student at Caney Creek High School, Codi Carter is a member of the Caney Creek FFA and the Caney Creek Starlette Drill Team; named a star greenhand and star chapter farmer, she has qualified for the auction sale at the Montgomery County Fair with a

H.R. No. 51

- 1 steer or hog every year since 1998, winning with a Grand Champion
- 2 Hog in 2002 and 2004 and a Reserve Champion Steer in 2003; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Kaycie Carter is a student at Moorhead Junior High
- 4 School, where she is a cheerleader, a level 7 gymnast, and an honor
- 5 roll student; like her sisters, she has been awarded titles for her
- 6 quality livestock, and she has qualified for the auction sale at the
- 7 Montgomery County Fair yearly since 2001 and won with a Reserve
- 8 Champion Steer in 2002; Kaycie has earned the additional
- 9 distinction of being the only Montgomery County resident to win the
- 10 Reserve Champion Steer Competition at the Houston Livestock Show
- 11 and Rodeo; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The Carter family has created a loving and
- 13 supportive homelife that encourages active participation in the
- 14 community and excellence in all pursuits, and it is a privilege to
- 15 honor the accomplishments of these admirable Texans; now,
- 16 therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 18 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby honor the members of the
- 19 Dempsey Carter family of Montgomery County for their contributions
- 20 to the community and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 21 continued success and fulfillment; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for the Carters as an expression of high regard by the
- 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Норе

H.R. No. 51

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	ח	TAT C	E 1
н	ĸ	Nο	ור

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 51 was adopted by the House on July 28, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House