H.R. No. 140

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Army Specialist 2 Ernest Dallas, Jr., of Denton suffered an immeasurable loss with 3 the death of this valiant soldier in Iraq on July 24, 2005, at the 4 age of 21; and

5 WHEREAS, Known for his protective and loving nature, 6 Specialist Dallas was inspired to join the army by the events of 7 September 11, 2001; he graduated from Fred Moore High School, where 8 his smile endeared him to a host of friends, and his thoughtfulness 9 and concern for others touched many hearts; and

10 WHEREAS, This courageous Texan was a former member of the 11 Denton Police Department's Citizen Youth Academy, and he had hoped 12 to one day serve his community as a police officer; and

13 WHEREAS, Notwithstanding the hardships that he faced in a war 14 zone, Specialist Dallas performed his work with pride and professionalism; through his unwavering dedication to duty, honor, 15 and this country, Ernest Dallas, Jr., embodied the highest ideals 16 of the armed services, and the blessing of his life will be forever 17 18 treasured by those who were privileged to share in the warmth of his love and friendship; now, therefore, be it 19

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 21 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby pay special tribute to the 22 life of Specialist Ernest Dallas, Jr., and extend deepest sympathy 23 to the members of his family: to his mother, Charlene Sauseda, and 24 stepfather, Manuel Sauseda; to his father, Ernest Dallas, Sr.; to

1

H.R. No. 140
1 his brother, Robert Dallas; to his fiancee, Precious Bondurant; and
2 to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further
3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army

6 Specialist Ernest Dallas, Jr.

Crownover

H.R. No. 140

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 140 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on August 8, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House