H.R. No. 152

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The East Texas Sluggers are the pride of Texas 2 fast-pitch softball, having won the 18-under United States 3 Specialty Sports Association (USSSA) state championship in 4 Rowlett; and

5 WHEREAS, Charging through the tournament undefeated in five 6 games, the Sluggers allowed only three runs and notched two 7 shutouts; they defeated Last Chance in the championship game, 8 capturing the coveted state crown and earning a ticket to the USSSA 9 National Championship Series in Kansas City; and

10 WHEREAS, This outstanding fast-pitch team includes Bailey 11 Edwards, Haley Nix, Brittany Strickland, McCall Kenney, Ashley 12 Nugent, Miranda Campbell, Micah Knox, Jill Kasitati, Courtney 13 McFarlin, Katy Shurbert, and Cassi Wood; these exceptional athletes 14 were schooled in the finer points of the game by coaches Bob Kenney 15 and Tim Campbell, who instilled in their charges the values of hard 16 work, dedication, and good sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating the athleticism, talent, and commitment to excellence of true champions, the East Texas Sluggers are a source of tremendous pride to their families and supporters, and the memory of this remarkable achievement will surely remain with the players and their fans for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the East Texas

1

H.R. No. 152
Sluggers on winning the USSSA state championship title and extend
to the players and coaches best wishes for continued success; and,
be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 152

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 152 was adopted by the House on August 8, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House