By: Hughes H.R. No. 152

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The East Texas Sluggers are the pride of Texas

2 fast-pitch softball, having won the 18-under United States

Specialty Sports Association (USSSA) state championship in

4 Rowlett; and

3

7

9

11

12

16

18

21

24

5 WHEREAS, Charging through the tournament undefeated in five

6 games, the Sluggers allowed only three runs and notched two

shutouts; they defeated Last Chance in the championship game,

8 capturing the coveted state crown and earning a ticket to the USSSA

National Championship Series in Kansas City; and

10 WHEREAS, This outstanding fast-pitch team includes Bailey

Edwards, Haley Nix, Brittany Strickland, McCall Kenney, Ashley

Nugent, Miranda Campbell, Micah Knox, Jill Kasitati, Courtney

13 McFarlin, Katy Shurbert, and Cassi Wood; these exceptional athletes

were schooled in the finer points of the game by coaches Bob Kenney

and Tim Campbell, who instilled in their charges the values of hard

work, dedication, and good sportsmanship; and

17 WHEREAS, Demonstrating the athleticism, talent, and

commitment to excellence of true champions, the East Texas Sluggers

19 are a source of tremendous pride to their families and supporters,

20 and the memory of this remarkable achievement will surely remain

with the players and their fans for many years to come; now,

22 therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the East Texas

H.R. No. 152

- 1 Sluggers on winning the USSSA state championship title and extend
- 2 to the players and coaches best wishes for continued success; and,
- 3 be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.