H.R. No. 251

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The White Oak 17-18 All-Stars advanced to the Texas
Dixie Boys Championship on July 21, 2005, with a dominating 21-0 win
over the Euless All-Stars, and this significant achievement is a
testament to the dedication and determination that characterize
these young ballplayers; and

WHEREAS, The team posted 21 runs on 16 hits, and each starter scored at least two runs; with this impressive victory, White Oak advanced to the championship game and a chance to represent the Lone Star State in the Dixie National Tournament in Laurel, Mississippi; and

11 WHEREAS, Team members include Craig Allen Blankenship,
12 Matthew Kyle Bowen, Scott Reast Copeland, Cory Wayne Dickerson,
13 Joshua Louis Hardy, Griffin Thomas Hawthorne, Jess Mitchell Skeen,
14 James Nathan Skeen, Joshua Matthew Smallwood, Trevor Scott Stagner,
15 Nicholas Robert Leonard Thompson, Jonathan Davis Whitehurst, and

16 Eric Scott Wait; and

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, These talented athletes received able guidance from coaches Jimmy Skeen, Glenn Copeland, and Davis Whitehurst, who schooled their young charges in baseball fundamentals and encouraged the team to maintain a commitment to excellence throughout the tournament; and

WHEREAS, Although the team fell short of its goal of bearing the Texas flag at the national tournament, the players may take great pride in their performance, and they are most deserving of

H.R. No. 251

- 1 special recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby congratulate the White Oak
- 4 17-18 All-Stars on their outstanding athletic accomplishments and
- 5 extend to the players and coaches best wishes for the future; and,
- 6 be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the All-Stars as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

Н	D	$N \cap$	251

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 251 was adopted by the House on August 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House