By: Hunter H.R. No. 259

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Abilene Christian University will celebrate its 2 100th year of educating students for Christian service and 3 leadership throughout the world in 2005-2006; and

WHEREAS, The world of higher education will salute this well-known Christian university, founded in 1906 in Abilene, Texas on the occasion of its centennial year; and

WHEREAS, The early founders of ACU determined that it would be an independent liberal arts college serving young people from all walks of life; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, The men and women who dedicated themselves to the task of serving on the West Texas frontier included:

- the 13 Chairmen of the Board of Trustees who faithfully volunteered their time and resources: J.P. Sharp, pro tem (first meeting, Nov. 3, 1906), T. G. Moore, 1906-11, M. Zellner, 1911-16, J. S. Arledge, 1916-33, J. E. McKinzie, 1933-36, W. H. Free, 1936-42, E. D. Chambers, 1942-43, J. B. Collins, 1943-47, B Sherrod, 1947-67, Willard R. Paine, 1967-74, Ray McGlothlin Jr., 1974-84, H. Lynn Packer, 1984-92, Don Crisp, 1992- to present.
- the 10 presidents who have faced innumerable challenges and triumphs: A. B. Barret, 1906-08, H. C. Darden, 1908-09, R. L. Whiteside, 1909-11, James F. Cox, 1911; 1932-40, Jesse P. Sewell, 1912-24,

H.R. No. 259

Batsell Baxter, 1924-32, Don H. Morris, 1940-69, John C. Stevens, 1969-81, William J. Teague, 1981-91, and Royce Money, 1991- to present, who has led the university to new heights during his presidency since 1991.

- the 14 chief academic officers who continually advanced the standing of the university: A. B. Barret, 1906-08, H. C. Darden, 1908-09, R. L. Whiteside, 1909-11, James F. Cox, 1911, Carl Gardner, 1912-14, Henry Eli Speck, 1914-24, James Franklin Cox, 1924-31, Walter Harris Adams, 1932-69, Bill J. Humble, 1969-76, Edward Marcus Brown, 1976-82, C. G. Gray, 1982-88, Royce Money, 1988-91, Dwain M. Hart, 1991-96, Dwayne VanRheenen, 1996-to present.
- the twelve chief financial officers who guided the resources of the university with due diligence and insight: A. B. Barret, 1906-08, H. C. Darden, 1908-09, R. L. Whiteside, 1909-11, James F. Cox, 1911, Jesse P. Sewell, 1912-24, Paul C. Witt, 1922-24, L. G. Kennamer, 1924-27, Clara Bishop, 1927-28, Lawrence L. Smith, 1928-69, Leo Dale "Bill" Hilton, 1969-92, Jack Rich, 1992-2000, Phil Schubert, 2000-to present; and

WHEREAS, Nearly 90,000 alumni of the university live in every state in our nation and in over 100 countries of the world, and include medical doctors, scientists, school teachers, school and

- H.R. No. 259
- 1 university administrators, business and professional leaders,
- 2 ministers and missionaries, public servants and elected officials,
- 3 lawyers and judges, Olympic heroes, professional athletes and
- 4 coaches, best-selling authors, award-winning journalists,
- 5 filmmakers, artists, designers, actors, and musicians, as well as a
- 6 Pulitzer Prize winning photographer; and
- 7 WHEREAS, ACU is a private university offering undergraduate,
- 8 graduate, and doctoral degrees; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The official Centennial Celebration year begins
- 10 August 22, 2005, and concludes September 11, 2006, and will have as
- its theme, "Called to Faith and Excellence"; and
- 12 WHEREAS, This exceptional institution of higher education
- 13 will continue to advance its strong dedication to the Christian
- 14 faith and the highest standards of academic excellence in its
- 15 second century; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of Texas wishes to be
- one of the first entities in our state and nation to officially
- 18 recognize this special centennial anniversary of Abilene Christian
- 19 University; now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 21 Legislature congratulate Abilene Christian University on its 100th
- anniversary; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the university as an expression of high regard by the
- 25 Texas House of Representatives.