SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 11

In Memory of Henry F. Molina

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Henry F. Molina, who died September 21, 2003, at the age of 55; and

WHEREAS, Henry Molina was active in South Texas politics for many years; he made history in Karnes County by running for county judge as a Republican and Mexican-American in an election that had a record turnout; and

WHEREAS, Henry was born July 15, 1948, in Hobson, Texas, to Andres S. Molina and Dora Fernandez Molina; he graduated with honors from Karnes City High School in 1966; and

WHEREAS, After graduating from high school, Henry joined the United States Army Reserve and served as a procurement officer; he later became a well-known and well-respected weatherman in Laredo and San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, Henry Molina was a member of many organizations in the Mexican-American community, including the League of United Latin American Citizens, Target 90 and the Fiesta Commission; he served as the president of the San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and was vice president of the Texas Association of Mexican-American Chambers of Commerce; and

WHEREAS, Henry was a man of generosity and strength of character, and his wisdom, warmth and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the family of Henry F. Molina: his son, Rob Martinez; his mother, Dora Fernandez Molina; his sister, Darlene Adams; his brothers, Gary Molina and Jerry Molina; and his many other beloved relatives; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Henry F. Molina.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on July 26, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate