## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 49

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Arturo Q. Duran for his hard work and dedication as commissioner of the United States Section of the International Boundary and Water Commission; and

WHEREAS, Appointed commissioner by President George W. Bush in 2004, Mr. Duran has been instrumental in working out an agreement with Commissioner Arturo Herrera Solis of the Mexican Section of the International Boundary and Water Commission on the resolution of Mexico's Rio Grande water debt; and

of Mexico's Rio Grande water debt; and WHEREAS, Headquartered in El Paso, the United States Section of the commission is responsible for applying boundary and water treaties between the United States and Mexico and settling differences that arise in their application; and

WHEREAS, Prior to his appointment to the commission, Mr. Duran served as general manager of the Lower Valley Water District in El Paso County; he also worked for the United States Environmental Protection Agency for nine years, where he was instrumental in advancing national environmental policies relevant to federal facilities; and

WHEREAS, Arturo Duran has served in numerous leadership capacities through the years; he was United States co-chair for Health, Environment, and Urban Development between the United States and Mexico and chairman from Texas to the Business Advisory Council to the National Republican Congressional Committee; now, therefore, be it

Committee; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Arturo Q. Duran for his superior service to Texas and the United States as commissioner of the United States Section of the International Boundary and Water Commission; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Lucio

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 4, 2005.

## Secretary of the Senate