SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 50

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Lakewood Church of Houston on the occasion of the grand opening of its new facility; and

WHEREAS, The Lakewood Church has its roots in a meeting held by its founding pastor, John Osteen, in a converted feed store on Mother's Day in 1959; and

WHEREAS, Now known throughout the world as a model for racial harmony and diversity, Lakewood Church reaches out to thousands of people through its worship services and myriad ministries; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 46 years, the Lakewood Church has ministered faithfully to the spiritual needs of innumerable people; and

WHEREAS, Due to the guidance and wise stewardship of Pastor John Osteen and to the outstanding leadership of its current pastor, his son, Joel Osteen, the church has undergone astonishing growth and has now moved into the 16,000-seat Compaq Center, formerly known as The Summit; and

WHEREAS, This innovative church has rapidly increased its outreach programs to include such special ministries as those for the hearing-impaired, the homeless, foreign visitors, unwed mothers, hospitals, and prisons; in addition, its international media broadcast has expanded into over 200 million households in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Pastor Joel Osteen and his wife, Victoria, are leading what is called a "new generation," and their inspirational

1

ministry is providing enlightenment and hope to all who enter the church and to citizens throughout the world; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy, staff, and members of the Lakewood Church on the occasion of the grand opening of its glorious new house of worship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Armbrister Averitt Barrientos Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lindsay Lucio Madla Nelson Ogden Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Staples Van de Putte Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Ellis

S.R. No. 50

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 4, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate