SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 55

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Cayetano E. Barrera, who was recently selected as the Texas Family Physician of the Year by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians; and

WHEREAS, The standards for this prestigious award require that candidates be compassionate, dedicated to their patients, and active in their communities, and that they be valuable role models as professionals in the science and art of medicine; Dr. Barrera brings all these qualities and more to his McAllen practice; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Baylor University and The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, Dr. Barrera has been serving patients at his McAllen clinic since 1968; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Barrera has served the McAllen community in many ways through the years; he and his partners opened the first night clinic in the Rio Grande Valley in 1982; he has also served as chief of staff of McAllen General Hospital, and he is one of the cofounders of the McAllen Family Practice Residency Program of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, A well-respected contributor to the civic life of McAllen, Dr. Barrera is an integral part of many local organizations, including the Rio Grande Boy Scout Council, the Hidalgo-Starr Counties Medical Society, and the McAllen Citizens League; he is currently involved in efforts to erect a statue on the Capitol grounds in Austin honoring the Tejano culture and people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commend Dr. Cayetano E. Barrera for his many years of service to the people of the Rio Grande Valley and congratulate him on earning the title of Texas Family Physician of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on August 8, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate