By: Van Arsdale H.C.R. No. 1

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas Longhorn football team 2 engraved its name in the annals of college sports history on January 3 4, 2006, with a breathtaking 41-38 victory over the University of 4 Southern California in the Rose Bowl to claim the coveted 2005 5 National Championship crown; and

6 WHEREAS, The Longhorns closed the first half with a 16-10
7 lead, but USC overtook the Horns in the second half and presented
8 them with a formidable challenge when a fourth-quarter 22-yard Matt
9 Leinart touchdown pass to Dwayne Jarrett gave the Trojans a
10 12-point advantage; and

WHEREAS, Responding with unyielding resolve, the Longhorn offense advanced the ball deep into USC territory, setting up a 17-yard touchdown run by quarterback Vince Young that narrowed the gap; named the Rose Bowl's Most Valuable Player for the second consecutive year, Vince ran for 200 yards, passed for 267 yards, and tallied three rushing touchdowns and a two-point conversion; and

WHEREAS, The game's thrilling climax came on fourth-and-five on the eight yard line, with only seconds remaining; Vince, unable to find an open receiver, slipped past a Trojan rush, found a lane, and raced to the right pylon for the game-winning touchdown; his amazing sprint handed The University of Texas its first national championship title since 1970 and sent exuberant Longhorn fans across the country into euphoric celebration; and

24 WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were Will

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

H.C.R. No. 1

Allen, Steven Andrade, Sam Areias, Coy Aune, Ryan Bailey, Justin 1 2 Blalock, Rashad Bobino, Todd Bondy, Tarell Brown, Christopher 3 Brown, Will Buchanan, Jeremy Campbell, Benjamin Campos, Brian 4 Carter, Jaime Carvajal, Xang Chareunsab, Jamaal Charles, Quan 5 Cosby, Tim Crowder, Scott Derry, Larry Dibbles, Cedric Dockery, 6 Greg Dolan, Jermichael Finley, Michael Flath, Eric Foreman, Brandon 7 Foster, Adair Fragoso, Mike Garcia, Tyrell Gatewood, 8 Gerland, Cedric Griffin, Dallas Griffin, Marcus Griffin, Michael Griffin, Ahmard Hall, Eric Hall, Chris Hall, Clint Haney, Albert 9 10 Hardy, Myron Hardy, Aaron Harris, William Harvey, Tony Hills, Antwaun Hobbs, Matthew Hofer, Steven Hogan, Michael Huff, Erick 11 12 Jackson, Kaelen Jakes, Tully Janszen, Anthony Johnson, Braden Johnson, Greg Johnson, Nate Jones, Drew Kelson, Daniel Kendall, 13 14 Robert Killebrew, Chad Kugler, Stephen Lane, Aaron Lewis, Matt 15 Logan, Derek Lokey, Thomas Marshall, Marco Martin, Colt McCoy, Mark McCoy, Matthew McCoy, Richmond McGee, Mac McWhorter, Karim Meijer, 16 17 Matt Melton, Henry Melton, Cory Michner, Dustin Miksch, Roy Miller, Ryan Moench, Justin Moore, Roddrick Muckelroy, Marcus Myers, Matt 18 19 Nordgren, Ishie Oduegwu, Chris Ogbonnaya, Frank Okam, Brian Orakpo, Ryan Palmer, Jason Perez, Julian Peterman, Christoph Peters, Kyle 20 21 Phillips, David Pino, Billy Pittman, Brad Poronsky, Kirby Portley, James Ray, Nic Redwine, Brian Robison, Aaron Ross, Nick Schroeder, 22 Roberto Schuldes, Jonathan Scott, Lyle Sendlein, Jordan Shipley, 23 24 Jaicus Solis, Cody Stavig, Kasey Studdard, Limas Sweed, Charlie 25 Tanner, Ramonce Taylor, Michael Taylor, Clayton Tefteller, David 26 Thomas, Luke Tiemann, Freddy Torres, Neale Tweedie, Adam Ulatoski, 27 Peter Ullman, Brett Valdez, George Walker, William Winston,

- H.C.R. No. 1
- 1 Rodrique Wright, Jerren Wright, Selvin Young, Terrance Young, Vince
- 2 Young, and Gilbert Zepeda; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Head coach Mack Brown, who has stated he never once
- 4 doubted the outcome of the game, was ably assisted by a top-notch
- 5 staff that includes Greg Davis, Gene Chizik, Duane Akina, Bruce
- 6 Chambers, Oscar Giles, Bobby Kennedy, Mac McWhorter, Ken Rucker,
- 7 Mike Tolleson, Cleve Bryant, Jeff Madden, George Wynn, Jeff Koonz,
- 8 Derek Lewis, Ken Sheppard, Brian Davis, Mike Arias, Derrick Scott,
- 9 Aaron Humphrey, Bruce Johnson, Lance Sewell, Donnie Maib, Larry
- 10 Falk, and Mike Korth; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Throughout the epic contest, the Longhorns
- 12 demonstrated the determination and grit that exemplify the Texas
- 13 spirit, and they are a source of tremendous pride to the entire Lone
- 14 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 3rd Called Session, hereby honor The University of Texas Longhorn
- 17 football team and Coach Mack Brown and his staff for winning the
- 18 2005 National Championship title and extend to all those involved
- in this remarkable season heartfelt congratulations on a job well
- 20 done; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the team, Coach Brown, and his staff as an expression
- of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.